top of page
Search

Volunteering at Castle Eden Dene - by Sharon Green

It’s no secret that more people have been out and about, enjoying nature, during the pandemic, but my story starts a couple of years before.


During an episode of mental ill health, a friend suggested that I take up exercise as part of my treatment. Exercise and myself have never been best friends, or indeed friends of any sorts but I remember thinking “Why not? I have tried everything else” so I began walking, going further and further each day. Before I knew it, I had walked my depression off, around Castle Eden Dene.

Once recovered, I was left with a feeling of wanting to give something back to Castle Eden Dene, only problem was working out what I could do. A short time later, I saw a tweet on the Castle Eden Dene Twitter page asking for volunteers. As I read the tweet, I wondered if this was something I could do, I had never worked in conservation before and I wasn’t very good with heavy manual work. I have always been interested in wildlife and the environment, but my career choices had taken me in another direction. I decided to call up and just see what volunteering involved before committing myself to something which I couldn’t do.


I was very quickly reassured on the call and put at ease. A date was made for me to attend an induction. When the morning of my induction arrived, I was very nervous (which sounds silly now) and all I could think about was “ What happens if they ask me about this or that because I have never done this before” Nevertheless, I arrived for my induction and it was nothing like I had expected, I was immediately put at ease. The time was spent getting to know the staff and Natural England and the staff getting to know me. The volunteering opportunities were all fully explained to me in detail, from group activities to singular activities such as reserve warden and the choice was mine as to which activity I wanted to volunteer in. I chose reserve warden.

My First day, I don’t really know what I was expecting. I arrived at the lodge and met another volunteer, to show me around the paths and tell me the names of all these areas of the dene. I knew the dene well, but I hadn’t heard of “Miss Mary’s” or “Beech Grove” I left after my patrol feeling inspired by this volunteer, their knowledge and dedication really shone through. I wanted to come back the next day and the next and the next.


I soon became a regular addition to the dene; I began to recognise the regular visitors from those who were visiting for the first time. As my knowledge grew, so did my confidence. I was wanting to know more and more about the wildlife and I remember one day, while out on patrol, I noticed a fungus which I had never seen before and so off to Google I went and learned what its name was, the environment it preferred etc. I returned to the lodge after my patrol and was so excited to talk on and on about this fungus, I dare say to the staff, this fungus was common place but not once did they say anything to dampen my excitement at what I had found, in fact quite the contrary.


Learning isn’t the only advantage to volunteering. I have made some fantastic memories volunteering, from seeing wildlife up close to being up to my welly tops stuck in mud, unable to move because I was laughing so hard. I have met so many amazing people, whether that be the staff, volunteers or visitors to the reserve. I’m sure many will be lifelong friends.


From the very first moment, you are part of the team, part of the family. That’s how it feels, like we’re a family, we are there for each other. If someone needs help with a task, then we help. The sense of belonging is immense. I don’t mind telling you, during lockdown, I had a family member who was extremely ill and the staff from Natural England could not have been more supportive, they weren’t intrusive in anyway, they were there for me to just be able to offload a bit of stress from having someone so ill in ICU and not being able to visit. I will never forget their kindness and concern during one of the most difficult times in my life.


There are so many opportunities available to you when you volunteer, so many training courses you can attend, but the opportunities are not just about training. If training is not your thing, then the opportunity to get out and listen to birdsong, get fresh air, get fitter (physically and mentally) meet people, all exist in one place. Being a volunteer, does not mean that you have to commit to giving 37 hours a week of your time there, you have the flexibility to give whatever time you want, whether that be 1 hour a week or 40 hours per week. If woodland is not your thing, then no worries, we have other sites like Teesmouth, which covers a large coastal area or how about the grasslands of Thrislington and Cassop? We have so many different environments where you can volunteer.


I often recall people’s response to my announcement of volunteering at Castle Eden Dene. I remember the “Oh we will see how long that lasts” and the “what???? You’re working for free, are you crazy?” comments but I think the fact I have volunteered for over two years now (I’m still a rookie as some people have volunteered for 20+ years here) has answered the first response and as for the second, well here is my answer to that “ I am not working for free, I am gaining knowledge, experience, making memories, getting fitter, making friends but most of all, I am honoured to be a small part of Castle Eden Dene and my input now, will ensure that this very special place, will continue on for generations to come and enjoy, these are things which cash cant buy”


Finally, if you are considering becoming a volunteer, my advice to you would be DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!! It is good to challenge yourself and step outside your comfort zone just a little. You will be amazed at what you can achieve just by simply picking up the phone and making that initial contact. If you are a volunteer, share your experiences with those who don’t. Encourage and support each other to “pay something back” together we can achieve so much.

113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Castle Eden Dene National Nature Reserve

Natural England

Oakerside Dene Lodge

2 Stanhope Chase

Peterlee

SR8 1NJ

0191 586 0004

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Disclaimer - photos cannot be reproduced without expressed permission

bottom of page